User:Jukeboksi/Blog/2018

From Wikistudy
Jump to: navigation, search

December[edit]

Wednesday 2018-12-26[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups and took a snapshot of the system disk. Jukeboksi (talk) 19:45, 26 December 2018 (UTC)

November[edit]

Saturday 2018-11-17[edit]

  • The server is suffering from low performance. Especially page saves take a frustratingly long time. Going to make backups and a snapshot of the server and see if I can figure out what is causing the slow performance. Jukeboksi (talk) 15:50, 17 November 2018 (UTC)

Friday 2018-11-16[edit]

  • Going to take a snapshot of the system disk. This will cause a 2-3 minute freeze when the site is unreachable. Jukeboksi (talk) 15:00, 16 November 2018 (UTC)
  • Server restarted with new kernel (4.9.0-8-amd64). Downtime was approx. 2 minutes. Jukeboksi (talk) 14:55, 16 November 2018 (UTC)
  • Made, verified and distributed backups. Going to restart the server for a new kernel. Expected downtime of 1-2 minutes. Jukeboksi (talk) 14:46, 16 November 2018 (UTC)

Thursday 2018-11-08[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups. Jukeboksi (talk) 13:01, 8 November 2018 (UTC)

October[edit]

Saturday 2018-10-27[edit]

  • Took a snapshot of the system disk. Jukeboksi (talk) 14:50, 27 October 2018 (UTC)
  • Made, verified and distributed backups. Jukeboksi (talk)

Monday 2018-10-15[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups. Jukeboksi (talk) 10:13, 15 October 2018 (UTC)

Friday 2018-10-12[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups and upgraded the server software with apt. Jukeboksi (talk) 14:40, 12 October 2018 (UTC)

September[edit]

Sunday 2018-09-30[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups. Jukeboksi (talk) 09:49, 30 September 2018 (UTC)

Saturday 2018-09-08[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups. Jukeboksi (talk) 10:23, 9 September 2018 (UTC)

August[edit]

Tuesday 2018-08-28[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups. Jukeboksi (talk) 21:11, 28 August 2018 (UTC)

Tuesday 2018-08-21[edit]

Made, verified and distributed backups. Jukeboksi (talk) 17:19, 21 August 2018 (UTC)

Wednesday 2018-08-15[edit]

  • Made, verfied and distributed backups. Jukeboksi (talk) 20:48, 15 August 2018 (UTC)

Sunday 2018-08-12[edit]

  • Update: Enabled image processing and scaling with ImageMagick. Score increased.

Wednesday 2018-08-08[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups. Wrote a nifty little shell script to automate most parts of the task. Next going to write a script for verifying the backups automatically. Jukeboksi (talk) 12:37, 9 August 2018 (UTC)

Friday 2018-08-03[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups. Jukeboksi (talk) 10:32, 3 August 2018 (UTC)

July[edit]

Tuesday 2018-07-24[edit]

Monday 2018-07-23[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups and also took a snapshot of the system disk. Jukeboksi (talk) 11:05, 23 July 2018 (UTC)

Saturday 2018-07-21[edit]

  • Renewed the domain and the new expiry time is 2019-09-11 10:53:30Z. Jukeboksi (talk) 21:12, 20 July 2018 (UTC)
  • Server clock was off by 20 minutes (even as the Real Time Clock was correct). Now fixed. Jukeboksi (talk) 14:10, 21 July 2018 (UTC)

Monday 2018-07-16[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups. I do this more often than I report it. Jukeboksi (talk) 12:05, 16 July 2018 (UTC)

Sunday 2018-07-15[edit]

OS upgraded to Debian 9.5. Jukeboksi (talk) 10:18, 15 July 2018 (UTC)

Saturday 2018-07-07[edit]

  • Installed a wildcard TLS/SSL certificate and thus enabled https-protection for the users of this site. Wrote a blog post about how I did it. Jukeboksi (talk) 21:08, 7 July 2018 (UTC)

Wednesday 2018-07-04[edit]

  • Upgraded all extensions to REL1.31 versions. Made, verified and distributed backups. Jukeboksi (talk) 10:16, 4 July 2018 (UTC)

Tuesday 2018-07-03[edit]

  • Upgraded this Mediawiki to 1.31.0. Jukeboksi (talk) 10:39, 3 July 2018 (UTC)

Sunday 2018-07-01[edit]

  • Made, verified and distributed backups. Jukeboksi (talk) 18:27, 1 July 2018 (UTC)

February[edit]

Sunday 2018-02-18[edit]

Migrated this wiki to a new Debian 9 server. Jukeboksi (talk) 19:03, 18 February 2018 (UTC)

January[edit]

Saturday 2018-01-27[edit]

The wiki's account registrations were on a lock-down for a while due to bots with ability to pass NOCAPTCHA regged accounts for spam purposes.

Today I installed and tested the ConfirmAccount extension (account creation moderation) so if someone (a real human) wants an account they can get it.

The ConfirmAccount extension asks only for user name, email address and a free-form message of arbitrary length. Jukeboksi (talk) 18:55, 27 January 2018 (EET)